Modern Lee Social

Twitter: Information Station

In Uncategorized on May 3, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Monday evening as I sat on the couch surfing through the television channels, I stopped on CNN where Wolf Blitzer was reporting that President Obama would make an important announcement in the next hour.

My fiance and I threw around a few possibilites before we both grabbed our lap tops. Where would one go find information on what the President may be speaking about? CNN? MSNBC? Huffington Post? We went to trusty social media. Both of our first instincts was to get on our Twitter accounts. Each of us follow numerous news organizations and the moment we logged in tweets about the death of Bin Laden filled our screens.

It wasn’t until the next day that I realized our first instinct was to go to a social media site instead of visiting a particular news organization site. I will be speculating, but I have to believe that many others did the same as myself and my fiance.

Twitter is an information station.

ES

Leave a Reply

